Nerf Loadouts Vol. I: Close Quarters Combat

Hey everybody and welcome to a new blog series that will focus on loadouts for different scenarios. Now I know that there are a dime a dozen of these posts out there, but I believe in personal opinion and the ever changing dynamics of the blaster world, with new blasters coming about every month or so. This month, it’s all about Close Quarters Combat (CQB).

Since most of my readers live in the city, and thus most of them live in apartments, our usual play environment involves either the corridors and staircases, or sofas and kitchen tops. Due to this close environment, range and accuracy isn’t usually a defining factor. However, rate of fire and quick reloading sure do play very important roles in this scenario, so I’ll be primarily focusing on blasters that excel in these areas only. Be sure to drop a comment if you think another blaster is worthy of being included, be it BoomCo, Buzz Bee or any other blaster.

Loadout 1: Ambush and Eliminate

Primary: BoomCo Rapid Madness + extra clips

pMAT1-18923016enh-z6

Secondary: Nerf Hammershot

14497493

This loadout focuses on the element of surprise, where you pin down your enemy under heavy fire, forcing them to dodge/run, and then shoot them with the relatively accurate Hammershot. Since your enemy will usually run between defences, i.e. doors in a corridor or between sofas, you can literally obliterate them with 20 darts in 2 seconds when they’re exposed. Even if they manage to dodge the heavy fire, use the Hammershot to finish the job. Be sure to carry extra BoomCo clips because they will run out very fast. Scavenge the darts for the Hammershot.

I remember using this technique against my friend when playing at my house. When he was changing magazines for his Alpha Trooper, I charged at him with my Rapid Madness blazing, forcing him to run for cover. In his rush, he left his magazine behind, so I just walked up to him and finished him Hitman style.

Loadout 2: Unseen Assassin 

Primary: Nerf Rival Apollo XV-700

Apollo-red

Secondary: You don’t need one, end of story.

I’ve ran this loadout once, and I’m telling you, your enemy won’t know what hit him. Nerf’s Rival line is putting every single blaster out of competition, excelling in range, accuracy, reloading and holy cow these things shoot fast. Forget the days where you could get lucky and dodge a dart. These foam balls travel fast, hit hard and hit accurately. It’s so good I almost feel bad for my opponents, who whiz their heads around looking where this streak of yellow came from.

Fortunately, the tale doesn’t end here. These things richochet, so shooting accurately around corners is reality now. Once my friend was hiding behind double doors, one of them facing me. You won’t believe it, but I shot at the door facing me, and the ball pinged on the opposite door, pinged back into the room and hit him square in the chest. Another one of my friends hiding there said it was the most beautiful thing he had ever seen. As for my tagged friend, he was too incredulous to say anything. Also, reloading is a breeze with this new ammo. Simply press the magazine down on the balls and fill up your magazine in seconds. This is the raison d’etre of the Nerf Rival Apollo, it’s built to win. Sure it doesn’t shoot quickly, but why dump ammo when you need only one shot to tag?

Loadout 3: Tacticool, it’s over 9000!

Primary: Nerf Stryfe+ Retaliator stock+ Retaliator foregrip

images

Secondary: Nerf Mega Cycloneshock

edited 1

This loadout is for them CQB tacticool fanatics, who want their loadouts to look CQB-esque. So I made one, without cutting down on actual performance. Running a Stryfe with tactical attachments and a big, intimidating revolver certainly gives the user a mil-sim feel. Add a little crouching and “X-Ray Bravo what’s your status, over”, and you have CoD  right in your apartment.

Jokes aside, I personally do believe that this loadout is worth it. Moderate, ammo-saving fire from the Stryfe and last resort, fast fire from the Cycloneshock will certainly keep your opponents ducking for cover. I do run a Cycloneshock when I duel, and it’s definitely worth having a bigger dart that has more inertial mass and thus, better performance. Plus, it looks good, because style points.

That concludes my Vol. I for Nerf loadouts. Be sure to comment your personal loadouts and ideas, and don’t forget to follow! Next month it’s Backyard Nerfing Loadouts, till then, Nerf on!

Leave a Reply

